Editor's Note

The FOI Advocate is a compendium of ideas, edited story excerpts and other materials from a variety of Web sites, as well as original concepts and analysis. When the information comes directly from another source, it will be attributed and a link will be provided whenever possible. The blog relies on the accuracy and integrity of the original sources cited. We will correct errors and inaccuracies when we become aware of them.

Thursday, April 08, 2010

New Mexico Foundation for Open Government Awards Announced

The New Mexico Foundation for Open Government awarded state Rep. Janice Arnold-Jones the 2010 William S. Dixon First Amendment Freedom Award for her efforts to force webcasting at the state Legislature. Arnold-Jones won in the category for law and government.

Heath Haussamen of NMPolitics.net nominated Arnold-Jones, writing "it's rare for an elected official to stand up to a broken system in such a courageous manner and start a movement that so dramatically changes things."

Other award winners this year include Norman Becker, president and CEO of New Mexico Mutual; Winston Brooks, superintendent of the Albuquerque Public Schools; attorney Hal Simmons; and Robert B. Trapp, managing editor of the Rio Grande Sun.

For more about the awards, click here.

No comments: