Monday, March 01, 2010
Proposals to Strengthen Missouri's Sunshine Law
A Missouri lawmaker has proposed two bills to strengthen the state's Sunshine Law, including a provision that would add a fine of up to $8,000 for each person found guilty of a "purposeful violation" and a $1,000 fine for "knowingly" violating the law. The proposals also includes new record-keeping standards for governmental bodies, new requirements for public notice of certain meetings, and a required training session on the state's Sunshine Law for elected or appointed officials.
Critics say Missouri's Sunshine Law "just doesn't have any teeth" as it is now.
For more on the bills, click here.