The Missouri Department of Revenue plans to charge more than five times what it is currently asking the public to pay for driving records under a plan that news media outlets say violates state law.
Under the policy set to go into effect May 1, the Department of Revenue will raise the cost for each driving record to $7 from $1.25. It also will exponentially increase the fees charged to those requesting records in bulk, including news media outlets.
The records contain information on licensing and driving convictions for Missouri motorists. Residents can request the records of any licensed driver to check whether a license has been revoked or someone has been convicted of drunken driving, for example. The release of personal information is limited by state and federal law.
Department of Revenue officials have said the agency needs to increase fees to recover its costs for providing the information.